Older women, younger men

Romulans, phase-inverters, friendships, OH MY!

Moderators: justTripn, Elessar, dark_rain

Distracted
Site Donor
Show On Map: No

Older women, younger men

Postby Distracted » Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:54 pm

BnB and I have gotten some responses to the most recent installment of Lerteiran that have gotten me thinking. A couple of the commenters have expressed a distrust of one of the characters based at least partially on the fact that he is romantically pursuing a woman who is much older than he is. Admittedly, the character IS an undercover operative by profession, and so his motives should probably always be suspect, but the younger man/older woman thing seems to be what everyone is suspicious about.

I would have thought that in this crowd the idea of an older woman and a younger man together wouldn't be as shocking, considering the fact that we're all here obsessing over just such a couple. But she doesn't LOOK like she's in her sixties, now does she?

So, here's the topic I'm putting out for discussion. Do you think that if T'Pol had actually looked her age from a human point of view (or if she hadn't been fashion-model gorgeous) would Trip still have developed an interest in her? Are there personality characteristics that might make some men overlook a woman's outward age and appearance and actually look at what's on the inside, or is the attraction always entirely physical?

What about the younger woman/older man situation? Why is that more accepted? And does the younger partner necessarily have to have mercenary motives?
Image sig by chrisis1033

crystalswolf
Commander
Commander

Re: Older women, younger men

Postby crystalswolf » Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:20 pm

I know women tend to have a certain level of attraction for men because of physical characteristics but when they get to know them, the level changes. I don't know if this happens with men because it seems visual stimulation is VERY important.